Not Sure What to Say

Summer is over and fall is around the corner. Football is back on the field and the Rangers and Astros are working their way into the playoffs. Business is moving forward and family is overall, good.

Yet, it’s not as rosy as it might look. The kids are about to start another year of being homeschooled and Zane has started his first year at Smith for pre-k, so we are back to dropping a child off everyday there, which frankly brings back lots of memories.

Business as a flipper and investor has been really good lately, but has had it’s challenges and big disappointments, as it always does. Was super tough to watch a years long friendship (or what I thought was) end with two people I cared so much for turning their backs on me, but frankly, it’s the price you pay when you do things the right way. Luckily, I have so many more that have stepped up to stand with us during these years. Our suit against those that threw us under the bus is well on the way now and we are seeking to make the damages done equal at the minimum.

But dad’s passing certainly is the biggest change of them all. I really have wanted to talk to him these last few days…and I have had to realize I never will again. I know where he is in Heaven waiting on the rest of us, but it still makes it hard. Mom is stronger than I ever thought she would be and I have had to be too. But, times alone which I have alot of driving around I wonder how he is, what’s going on up there and wished I could just have one more lunch with him at Pizza Inn. He was my dad. The only one I will ever have.

I am so thankful this summer was good. Business finally got some momentum and we got some great family time together down in Galveston. God blessed us with that week with my dad. He knew in a matter of days afterwords he would be gone. I was down there last week and it was hard to be there again, yet healing too. Mom has already been back too as my niece and her husband now are Islanders.

I’ve spent a lot of time going to places dad loved to eat with Ben or alone. El Fenix. El Chico. Whataburger….I have a few more left and there are a few others closed and gone forever, like Harvey’s BBQ.

I wished he could see what’s going on now yet I know he can.

I have big shoes to fill, and some shackles to be free of, but I can do all things through Him who gives me strength. I have a family to feed, a mom and grandma to watch over and others to help. That’s the mission.

Let’s do this. Bring on Fall 2017. I am very ready for it.

Leave a Reply

